3-Cushion News - US & World

Haeng-Jik Kim Wins 2017 UMB World Cup Porto Featured

Haeng-Jik Kim, Korea's four-time world junior champion, at age 25 has won his first World Cup in Porto, Portugal. In the FC Porto arena, the best of all the "Kim's" was never in trouble throughout the main event. In a stunning turn, nine of the world's top-10 players were eliminated in the knock-out rounds leading up to the final match. And in that final match, Haeng-Jik Kim got the better of Vietnam's Nguyen Quoc Nguyen finishing 40-34 in 23 innings to take the crown.


Marco Zanetti Wins His 26th Italian Title Featured

Marco Zanetti has conquered an incredible 26th Italian 3-cushion title. The best Italian billiard player in history defeated Emilio Sciacca in the final match 40-34 in 29 innings. Zanetti's tournament average was 1.786 and his high run for the event was 10. Pictured above Zanetti (right) receiving congratulations and proudly holding his well-earned trophy.


David Martinez Wins Spain's National 3-Cushion Title Featured

He could hardly believe his eyes, 25-year David Martinez, when he made his last point and crowned himself the new Spanish champion in three cushion. The brilliant last sprint in the final match against Dani Sánchez was rewarded with the title. Pictured above (L to R) Dani Sanchez, Champio David Martinez, Ruben Legazpi and Javier Palazon.


Pedro Piedrabuena Wins 9th USBA National Championship Featured

Pedro Piedrabuena is the 2017 USBA 3-Cushion National Champion after impressing both players and spectators alike at the national championship tournament with a nearly flawless performance. Undefeated throughout the preliminaries and the finals, Pedro demonstrated his world-class skill and concentration at the table - an inspiration to all the players. Whether facing a C-Player or one of the five former champions, Pedro brought his A-Game to every match. The USBA is extremely proud that Pedro will be representing the USA at the 2017 UMB World Championship to be held November 1-5 in La Paz, Bolivia.

Pictured above (L to R): Camilo Medina, Frank Torres, Mazin Shooni, Hugo Patino, Jae Hyung Cho, Pedro Piedrabuena (Champion!), Miguel orres, Robert Spicknall, Joe Deamato, Tony Ferrara and Tung Nguyen. (Not pictured Craig Powers.)